Search SIGMOD Join SIGMOD Feedback What's New Home
SIGMOD/PODS Conferences
DBLP Bibliography
SIGMOD Digital Symposium Collection
SIGMOD Anthology
SIGMOD Digital Review
Industry Pages
The PODS Pages
Post/Read DB World Messages


The SIGMOD Awards Committee is now open to receiving nominations for the SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award and the SIGMOD Contributions award. In addition, the awards committee welcomes informal advice regarding the Test of Time Award for the paper in the 2000 SIGMOD Conference that has had the most impact since its publication.

The nomination deadline is April 18, 2010.

In 1992, ACM SIGMOD started the Annual SIGMOD Innovations Award and SIGMOD Contributions Award as part of its Awards Program. In 2004, SIGMOD, with the unanimous approval of ACM Council, renamed the Innovations Award award in honor of Dr. Edgar F. (Ted) Codd (1923 - 2003), who invented the relational data model and was responsible for the significant development of the database field as a scientific discipline.

The previous winners of the Innovations Award are: Michael Stonebraker (1992), James Gray (1993), Philip Bernstein (1994), David DeWitt (1995), C Mohan (1996), David Maier (1997), Serge Abiteboul (1998), Hector Garcia-Molina (1999), Rakesh Agrawal (2000), Rudolf Bayer (2001), Patricia Selinger (2002), Donald Chamberlin (2003), Ronald Fagin (2004), Michael Carey (2005), Jeffrey Ullman (2006), Jennifer Widom (2007), Moshe Vardi (2008), and Masaru Kitsuregawa (2009).

The previous winners of the Contributions Award are: Maria Zemankova (1992), Gio Wiederhold (1993), Yahiko Kambayashi (1995), Jeffrey Ullman (1996), Avi Silberschatz (1997), Won Kim (1998), Raghu Ramakrishnan (1999), Laura Haas and Michael Carey (2000), Daniel Rosenkrantz (2001), Richard Snodgrass (2002), Michael Ley (2003), Surajit Chaudhuri (2004), Hongjun Lu (2005), Tamer Özsu (2006), Hans-Jörg Schek (2007), Klaus Dittrich (2008), and Beng Chin Ooi (2009).


1A. Name: SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award.
1B. For What: Innovative and highly significant contributions of enduring value to the development, understanding, or use of database systems and databases.
2A. Name: SIGMOD Contributions Award.
2B. For What: Outstanding and sustained services to the database field through education, conference organizations, journals, standards activities, research funding, etc.
3. Given: Annually (if there is at least one qualified candidate)
4. Award: A plaque per person plus $1000 per award (the latter to be split among a group, if it is a group award)
5. Administration: Administered by the SIGMOD Awards Committee
6. Nomination/Evaluation Procedures:
  • Anyone in the field can nominate one or more persons or group (self nominations are excluded).
  • Nominations should include a proposed citation (up to 25 words), a succinct (100-250 words) description of the innovation/contribution, and a detailed statement to justify the nomination; plaintext is preferred.
  • At least three additional supporting letters should be submitted. Such letters, however, should not be simple endorsements of the nomination, but convey additional factual information.
  • The Awards Committee will evaluate all nominations and decide on zero or more winners.
  • Nominations must be received by April 18, 2010 to be considered for this year's award.
7. Recipients: The recipients will receive the awards at the annual ACM SIGMOD/PODS Conference, at the awards luncheon; each awardee will give a short speech (5-10 minutes).
8. Eligibility for Nomination:
  • Anyone except the current elected officers of SIGMOD (Chair, Vice Chair, and Treasurer), and members of the SIGMOD Awards Committee.
  • Awards should be for contributions not already honored by a major ACM Award (e.g., the Turing Award, SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award, or SIGMOD Contributions Award).


There is no formal nomination process for this award, but input from the database research community is welcome. The SIGMOD Awards Committee is charged with selecting the paper from the SIGMOD Proceedings from 10 years ago (i.e., the 2000 SIGMOD, this year) that has best met the "test of time," that is, it has had the most influence since its publication. We are especially interested in first-hand accounts of ways in which the ideas of a paper have been used in practice. So take a look at the 2000 SIGMOD Proceedings, and if you have any information you believe would be of use to the committee, then please send the committee a note, as described below.


Nominations should be submitted via e-mail to the chair of the SIGMOD Awards Committee, Laura Haas, with copies to the other members of the committee.

-- NOTE --

The committee will automatically re-consider nominations for both awards from the past two years (2008 and 2009). Nominators are of course free to revise the nominating documents for such candidates.

SIGMOD Awards Committee:

Rakesh Agrawal
Microsoft Research

Peter Buneman
University of Edinburgh

Laura Haas (Chair)
IBM Almaden Research Center

Masaru Kitsuregawa
University of Tokyo

David Maier
Portland State University

Top of Page


© 2000 Association for Computing Machinery